However picky she is . . . at least your mother is NOT Queen Catherine de Médicis

Had a bit of fun imagining what it would be like to be shopping for Queen Catherine de Médicis this Mother’s Day.

Poor Princess Margot—Catherine’s youngest daughter and the main character in my novel Médicis Daughter: A Novel of Marguerite de Valois! I mean the mother-daughter relationship is always somewhat perilous. But when your mom is Catherine de Médicis the peril isn’t just emotional, it can rather quickly turn deadly.

ENJOY! And maybe consider giving your mother a book this Mother’s Day 😉

Just a little reminder . . . Books make great gifts!

This year a took a magical pre-holiday trip to Spain. But–oops–that means the holidays are upon me and I am NOT read. As in . . . I have purchased a grand total of three gifts so far.

Thank heavens for BOOKS!  I’d argue there is a book out there for everyone. Are you still shopping as well? Maybe someone on your list would enjoy one of my novels?!

Medicis Daughter — 16th Century Royal Drama. Visit the gorgeous palaces of the Loire valley and streets of Paris with French Princess Marguerite de Valois. But be careful, Marguerite’s mother, Queen Catherine de Médicis is always plotting something . . . and a wrong move could be your last. Oh, and if you are invited to Marguerite’s wedding (her heart belongs to the handsome Duc de Guise, but her hand will be offered to Henri of Navarre, a Huguenot leader and a notorious heretic looking to seal a tenuous truce) you’d better dress for a massacre as well as dancing.

⚜ BUY LINKS FOR MÉDICIS DAUGHTER ⚜
Amazon
Bookshop Org

The Sister Queens — A story of 13th Century Sisterhood. Pass a cold winter’s day with Marguerite, Queen of France and her beloved sister Eleanor Queen of England . . . Raised at the court of their father, the Count of Provence, Marguerite and Eleanor are separated by these royal marriages–but never truly parted. Marguerite is the more patient and perfect of the pair . . . used to being first. She wants to be a good wife and a good Queen, but her husband Louis IX is a religious zealot who denies himself the love and companionship his wife craves. Can Marguerite borrow enough of her sister’s boldness to grasp her chance for happiness in a forbidden love?

♔BUY LINKS FOR THE SISTER QUEENS ♔
Amazon
Bookshop Org

And by Fire — A twisty mystery with a dose of 15th Century history.  Written by my alter-ego, Evie Hawtrey. Tempered by fire and separated by centuries, two extraordinary female detectives track a pair of murderous geniuses who will burn the world for their art in this mystery perfect for fans of Sarah Penner and Dan Brown.

Nigella Parker, Detective Inspector with the City Police, has a deeply rooted fear of fire and a talent for solving deadly arson cases. When a charred figure is found curled beside Sir Christopher Wren’s Monument to the Great Fire of London, Nigella is dragged into a case pitting her against a murderous artist creating sculptures using burnt flesh.

Nigella partners with Colm O’Leary of Scotland Yard to track the arsonist across greater London. The pair are more than colleagues—they were lovers until O’Leary made the mistake of uttering three little words. Their past isn’t the only buried history as they race to connect the dots between an antique nail pulled from a dead man’s hands and a long-forgotten architect dwarfed by the life’s work of Sir Christopher Wren.

Wren, one of London’s most famous architects, is everywhere the pair turn. Digging into his legacy leads the DCIs into the coldest of cold cases: a search for a bookseller gone missing during the Great Fire of London. More than 350 years earlier, while looking for their friend, a second pair of detectives—a lady-in-waiting to the Queen and a royal fireworks maker—discovered foul play in the supposedly accidental destruction of St. Paul’s Cathedral…but did that same devilry lead to murder? And can these centuries-old crimes help catch a modern-day murderer?

As Nigella and O’Leary rush to decode clues, past and present, London’s killer-artist sets his sights on a member of the investigative team as the subject of his next fiery masterpiece.

BUY LINKS FOR AND BY FIRE
Amazon US
Bookshop . org  
Barnes and Noble

Ribbons of Scarlet—a tale of the women of the French Revolution. Feel like starting a revolution? You’re in good company. Travel to 18th century Paris and meet seven amazing French women who fomented and fought in the French Revolution. Ribbons is a breathtaking epic novel illuminating the hopes, desires, and destinies of princesses and peasants, harlots and wives, fanatics and philosophers—unforgettable women who leave their distinctive marks on one of the most tumultuous and transformative events in history. But if anyone offers you a ride in a Tumbril just say NO!

BUY LINK FOR RIBBONS OF SCARLET
Amazon Paperback

A Day of Fire — A visit to the doomed city of Ancient Pompeii. Pompeii was a lively resort flourishing in the shadow of Mount Vesuvius at the height of the Roman Empire. When Vesuvius erupted in an explosion of flame and ash, the entire town would be destroyed. Some of its citizens died in the chaos, some escaped the mountain’s wrath . . . Six authors bring to life overlapping stories of patricians and slaves, warriors and politicians, villains and heroes who cross each others’ path during Pompeii’s fiery end. But who will escape, and who will be buried for eternity?

BUY LINK FOR A DAY OF FIRE
Amazon 

 

Co-Writing Historical Fiction & The Dramatic Destruction of Pompeii

Had a marvelous discussion with fellow historical novelist Ryan Byrnes about the recent re-release of A DAY OF FIRE, the first continuity novel in the historical fiction genre. Take a watch and learn about the tricky and exciting process of 6 authors co-writing a novel together, as well as what I personally think tales set in the past allow modern readers to do.

 

Award Winning “A Day of Fire” Re-releases with a Stunning New Cover

In 2014, six top historical novelists made history with the first collaborative novel in the genre. Today A Day of Fire reissues with a stunning new cover. Come with us to Pompeii in its last days, minutes, and hours . . .

Pompeii was a lively resort flourishing in the shadow of Mount Vesuvius at the height of the Roman Empire. When Vesuvius erupted in an explosion of flame and ash, the entire town would be destroyed. Some of its citizens died in the chaos, some escaped the mountain’s wrath . . . and these are their stories:

A boy loses his innocence in Pompeii’s flourishing streets.

An heiress dreads her wedding day, not knowing it will be swallowed by fire.

An ex-legionary stakes his entire future on a gladiator bout destined never to be finished.

A crippled senator welcomes death, until a tomboy on horseback comes to his rescue.

A young mother faces an impossible choice for her unborn child as the ash falls.

A priestess and a whore seek redemption and resurrection as the town is buried.

 

Six authors bring to life overlapping stories of patricians and slaves, warriors and politicians, villains and heroes who cross each others’ path during Pompeii’s fiery end. But who will escape, and who will be buried for eternity?

Order your copy today!

 

An Amazing Time in San Antonio: The Historical Novel Society North American Conference 2023

Hello dear readers! I am just back from the biannual North American HNS conference. Bit of trivia—I’ve attended every American HNS conference since the very first, held in Salt Lake City in 2005. Back then I was still working on my first manuscript and had no agent yet. Over my three days in Utah and I learned so much about the industry! To this day I consider the HNS conferences an indispensable event for staying up to speed on the publishing industry and gaining insights into the craft of writing for those of us writing in the historical genre. They are also a heck of a lot of fun.

I was a panelist in San Antonio, discussing the logistics of pen names—their creation, branding and management—along with the talented Eliza Knight, Libbie Grant and Kris Waldherr. Our panel had a specific focus on using multiple pen names, which means I got to be both Sophie Perinot and Evie Hawtrey in the same place at the same time (a first)!

Below you will find some photo highlights of the conference, featuring myself and other historical fiction authors you likely read, as well some of what we got up to. Enjoy! I certainly did!

Author Friends and Fun
Clockwise from top left: Eliza Knight, Heather Webb and me; cotton candy cocktail; Mariah Fredericks, Karen Odden and Judith Starkston; margaritas; Karen Odden and me; Kate Khavari and me; best guacamole ever. And right smack in the center–Nancy Bilyeau and me.

Happy Bastille Day!

I first fell in love with France and French history when I visited the Loire Valley as a college student studying abroad.

And the fascination stuck! If you haven’t noticed dear readers—but I suspect you have—three of my four historical novels are set entirely or significantly in France:

⚜️ RIBBONS OF SCARLET—Feel like starting a revolution? You’re in good company. Travel to 18th century Paris and meet seven amazing French women who fomented and fought in the French Revolution. RIBBONS, which I co-authored with five amazing fellow historical novelists, is a breathtaking epic novel illuminating the hopes, desires, and destinies of princesses and peasants, harlots and wives, fanatics and philosophers—unforgettable women who leave their distinctive marks on one of the most tumultuous and transformative events in history. But if anyone offers you a ride in a Tumbril just say NO!

⚜️ MÉDICIS DAUGHTER—Travel to 16th century France and visit the gorgeous palaces of the Loire and the steamy summer streets of Paris, with French Princess Marguerite de Valois. But be careful, Marguerite’s mother, Queen Catherine de Médicis is always plotting something . . . and a wrong move could be your last. Oh, and if you are invited to Marguerite’s wedding (her heart belongs to the handsome Duc de Guise, but her hand will be offered to Henri of Navarre, a Huguenot leader and a notorious heretic looking to seal a tenuous truce) you’d better dress for a massacre as well as dancing.

⚜️ THE SISTER QUEENS—This novel is 50% French. One of my sisters, Marguerite, is Queen of France in the 13th century, while the other—Eleanor—is Queen of England. Both were raised in Provence at the court of their father, the Count of Provence. And though they come to be separated by royal marriages, they are never truly parted.

For more about each book, check out its individual book tab! And for plenty of Francophile pleasing history, book-recommendations and more, peruse the archives of this blog!



 



© 2022 Sophie Perinot • All Rights Reserved • Contact Me